Down To The Final 4

R.I.P.

Before I begin with my post, I would like to take a moment to acknowledge the deaths of two athletes this past week.  Both passed away due to pre-existing heart conditions (enlarged hearts) which resulted in cardiac arrests.  These incidents prove that not even the professional athlete is invulnerable to conditions like the ones that cost these two young men their lives.  I constantly exercise and participate in rec leagues for basketball, and in light of these tragic incidents, I will vow to myself, to always get checked by a doctor if I feel any irregularities with my body.  This includes the little chest pains I get after I complete activities that requires me to exert a lot of energy.  I know that the only thing guaranteed in life is death, and taxes.  But death for these two young men came way too soon 😦

On to football.

I don’t feel like saying much outside of I’m shocked … but at the same time I’m not.

Let’s talk about this past weekend in order of appearance shall we?

I’m shocked that we weren’t treated to another epic shoot out in the Super Dome on Saturday.  I predicted that the Saints would win, but what I didn’t expect, was that they would do so without so much of a hitch from the Cards.  Experts said that the Cards may have been physically and emotionally drained after their instant classic of a meeting with the Packers last weekend … but I thought the opposite.  I thought they would be uplifted, and feel almost invincible after surviving to the next round.  They would ride that momentum straight into the Super Bowl, like they did last year.  I was wrong.  That’s why experts are experts, and I’m just Byron.

When Bush isn't focused on this ... he can be one helluva football player.

I was shocked at how well Reggie Bush played.  Was this his coming out party?  I don’t want to jump the gun on him quite yet, but if the Saints have the USC Reggie Bush in their back field, and not the “will never live up to the hype” Reggie Bush, well then … it’s a whole new ball game folks!

I won’t be shocked if Kurt Warner retires.  He was already considering it prior to this game, but after this vicious hit … it might be a formality.

Business as usual this past Saturday for the Colts General.

I was not shocked at how well Peyton Manning played.  Granted he threw two picks (even though only one just counted) to the Ravens … they were intercepted by Ed Reed.  Ed Reed is like the Peyton Manning of defenses.  The guy makes reads, he’s intelligent, and he’s gifted at his position.  That didn’t come to a surprise to me at all, and Ed Reed owns Peyton Manning on a personal level, but the Colts continue to own the Ravens over all.  Minus Ed Reed from this game, and Manning dominated.  He looked like the MVP he kind of deserves.

I was shocked at how well Brett Favre continues to play.  I must admit, I am one of his biggest doubters, but at this point, I think I’ll just shut up about Favre.  He’s had my respect, he has it even more now, but … I still hate him.

Now this is the Tony Romo I'm used to seeing in the playoffs

Now this is the Tony Romo we're used to seeing in the playoffs.

I hate Brett Favre … a lot.  But probably not as much as I hate Tony Romo.  Well, I take that back, maybe I hate them equally.  So when watching this game, I already knew that I lose no matter what the outcome.  But, I was not shocked at how bad Romo would play.  What … the guy wins one playoff game, and all of a sudden he’s a “clutch” performer?  All of a sudden, he’s the quarterback you turn to when you want to get the “job done” ???  NO.  He showed his true colors and folded under the pressure, like he usually does.  Even Romo was entitled to one playoff win … he got it.  Now we can get back to the way things were.

Favre to Rice has been money for the Vikes ... wait 'til AP joins the party.

Favre to Rice has been money for the Vikes, wait 'til AP joins the party ...

Another shocker from this game.  I felt no impact from AP at all.  That’s scary if you’re the Saints.  If he goes off, along with the streaking Favre, then it will be the Vikings partying by the Bayou next weekend.

Darrelle Revis might be the most valuable player in the playoffs thus far.

SHOCK.  But … not really.  The shock comes from the team that upset the Chargers.  The Jets.  Revis is a pimp.  His subjects, any wide receiver in the league.  Any.  He’ll shut them all down.  The Jets have held two potent offenses to low scoring out puts, and I truly believe Revis is the reason.  When he takes a way one side of the field, and shortens the field, the Jets D is at an advantage, as there’s less room for opposing offenses to operate.  It’s going to take a quarter back like Manning next week to find and exploit any weaknesses (if any) in the Jets D.  Anyway, the Colts should be thanking the Jets.  Not only do they have a chance to exact revenge on the team that ended their “perfect” season, but now they won’t have to face the Chargers.  The Colts have had little success against San Diego over the past few years, including an early exit in the playoffs last season, at the hands of the Chargers.

Could the 2010 playoff edition of the NY Jets, be the NFL version of the 2007 Golden State Warriors playoff team?

But.  Remember when the Dallas Mavericks had a chance to defeat the Golden State Warriors in the final game of the 2006-2007 season?  If the Mavericks won, the Warriors would have been eliminated from playoff contention that year.  If the Warriors won, they’d play Dallas in the first round.  That night, Dallas rested their stars.  They ultimately buried their own grave … and the rest was history, as Oracle Arena was explosive during that amazing first round series upset.

The Colts had a chance to eliminate the Jets from playoff contention in week 16.  They rested their stars.  Could this be a move that haunts them?  Could the 2010 Jets playoff team, be the NFL version of the 2007 Golden State Warriors playoff team?  I’m just saying …

In reality, I believe the Colts will win, but Reggie Wayne won’t have a big hand in it .. I wonder why?

While I wouldn't call Rivers Tony Romo ... he hasn't exactly delivered the goods when it's counted the most.

Once again, the sizzle has turn to frizzle come playoff time for the Chargers

With that said, the 2010 playoff Chargers continued to follow suit with past Charger teams, as they once again crashed into a brick wall, after riding their hot streak into the playoffs.  They are now infamous for this.  If they weren’t already.

So … my prediction for the Super Bowl now is … Saints.  Colts.  But now that both teams aren’t undefeated coming into the match, it lost some of its luster.  Oh well.

3 responses to “Down To The Final 4

  1. Ha, that’s who I’m picking to make it to the Super Bowl too. I think my most surprising part of this playoffs is that Sanchez hasn’t made too many mistakes yet… I’m fully with you on hating Romo and Favre! That was a pretty cheap TD that Favre scored at the end of the game one more reason to hate him!

    Rivers and Romo crying in the same day, it must’ve been my football Christmas! Do you think it’s going to be LT’s last game as a Charger?

  2. Yes I believe it will be LT’s last game as a Charger, and I believe that the Chargers regret picking LT over Michael Turner a few years back. I happen to like LT, but with a 12 carry, under 50 yard performance in yesterday’s game … I think that’s it for him. Hopefully he can revive his career in a new location next season.

  3. Yeah, they must be kicking themselves for not keeping Turner even if he was injured most of the year. I kinda think LT should just ride off into the sunset, and stick with that Charger blue. It’s kind of sad to see guys like him trying to hang on too long…

Leave a Reply

