Randomness & Sick :(

I’m not feeling too well, so hopefully writing a bunch of blurbs about all I can think of in the world of sports, will help get my mind off this runny nose, achy chest, and nauseous feeling.  Here we go. 

Is it just me ... or do you get a "Michael Scott" from The Office feel too, when you look at this pic?

Big news in the NFL.  Mike Shanahan is back, as he agrees to a 5 year deal with the Washington Redskins.  The Redskins were an absolute joke this past season, and if anyone can turn this franchise around, it should be Mike Shanahan.  I still believe Denver shafted Shanahan by firing him last season.  I thought he deserved the Bill Cowher treatment, meaning he would decide when his time was up in the Mile High.  It will be interesting to see how Shanahan will shake up the roster, because I have a feeling that he doesn’t believe in Jason Campbell much. 

Like Samson, Randy Johnson's power lies in his hair ...

Randy Johnson has called it a career.  22 illustrious seasons are now in the books, and what a career it was.  If I can only choose one word to sum up Randy Johnson’s pitching style, it would obviously be – power.  Or maybe slider.  Or perhaps “lefty” … yeah … definitely “lefty” … no-no-no, got it … MULLET

Pound for pound. 'Nuff said.

It looks as if the super-ultra-mega fight between Manny Pacquiao and Floyd Mayweather will no longer be.  Talks are as dead as a door knob, and there’s no sign of revival in sight.  *Sigh* this was going to be the fight that would return boxing to its glory days … Oh well.  I will still enjoy watching Pacquiao pummel who ever else there is left for him to pummel. 

Tim Tebow may not have ended his college career in story book fashion, but a BCS record in total yards in a game during the Sugar Bowl is definitely a nice consolation prize for him.  Good job Tebow, and I look forward to your translation into the pro game.  You have many doubters, but I am definitely not one of them. 

The Future

The Lakers, Nuggets, Celtics, Cavs and Magic are the cream of the crop in terms of championship contenders in the NBA.  You can throw in Atlanta, maybe.  But two upstart teams I would prefer not to run into come playoff time, are the Thunder, and the Grizzlies.  I really like the way the Thunder play, and how they’re built.  When Durant was a rookie, I drafted him with my 1st round pick in fantasy that year.  I know, I know, stupid move right?  But I believed he was going to be what he is today, but back then.  I was just a season and a half too early.  And how about the twin towers out in Memphis, with Zebo playing some highly inspired ball.  Pau Gasol is better than both Zebo and his Geico cave-man brother Marc, but I’d rather take the tandem of Zebo and Marc over Pau and Bynum any day.  Throw in Mayo, Gay and a Mike Conley who’s been playing better as of late, and I think Memphis is a team to be reckoned with if they can put it all together. 

Quick pick for the BCS title game.  Alabama … Saban … Ingram … champions.

One response to “Randomness & Sick :(

  1. Hope you get better! Randy is probably the most feared Mullet since Kruk was in the league! I heard Skip Bayless trying to say he was a failure in the playoffs, so he shouldn’t get in the Hall. Whaaaaa?

    It sucks Manny isn’t going to fight Mayweather. I was really looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

