Disappointment.

Perhaps through no fault of his own, Manning laid an egg in the second half of yesterday's game against the Jets, thus ending perfection.

I haven’t written in my blog for quite some time, as I have been preoccupied with other things.  Being a grooms men at my good friend’s wedding, the holiday season, and of course looking for a damn job.  But what happened today in Indy was very disappointing.  Enough so for me to write a quick piece on it.

What the Colts had in front of them was a once in a lifetime opportunity to etch their names into the history of football greatness.  Every year there are champions.  But not every year are there undefeated ones.  Ask the 1972 Miami Dolphins, they love to remind you of their accomplishment.  I hate that, but until another team duplicates their efforts, they have every right to.

The Saints made no secrets about it.  They were going after it.  They ran into the unfortunate circumstance of perhaps running out of steam here in the latter stages of the season.  I commend their efforts.  But the Colts.  They pulled the plug on their desire to finish perfect, and I’m extremely upset at them because of that.  The Jets wouldn’t have been able to come within 13 points of a fully motivated Colts team.

I can only imagine how the Colts fans watching in the RCA Dome felt.  I’m a 49ers fan, yet I feel disgusted at what direction the Colts went.  You work hard to strive for perfection, any one will tell you that,  and the Colts were at the brink of achieving a tiny bit of it.  They’ll regret the decision to have their pursuit come to a halt.  Even if they win the Super Bowl this season, it will never equate.  I side with Hall of Famer Michael Irvin on this one … he’d trade all of his Super Bowl rings for one perfect season.  That’s how meaningful that accomplishment would be.  I have no Super Bowl rings to trade in, but trust me, it would be a no-brainer if that choice were presented to me.

2 responses to “Disappointment.

  1. I was wondering where you went! Good to see you back!

    Yeah, it seems like it’s a hot topic right now. I didn’t agree with Caldwell’s decision, but at the same time if Peyton somehow got hurt they would question him even more…

    Here’s my favorites and least favorite moments of the decade http://doin-work.com/2009/12/28/the-best-and-worst-of-the-double-o-decade-in-sports/

  2. Stupid Caldwell! I guess there’s always next season?

Leave a Reply

