Bolt of Lightning.

I'm used to seeing Bolt running alone.  Now throw some pads on.

I'm used to seeing Bolt running alone. Now throw some pads on.

What a day of football last night, huh?  I know it’s only pre-season but I’m juiced!  Football really is the only sport in which a team is given a clean slate each year, and as of now, everyone has Super Bowl hopes.  Of course, a few teams have more reason to believe that it’s “their” year rather than others, but all in all, the morale is high in every locker room.

But, this post isn’t entirely about football.  I want to take this moment to pose to you a question …

How well would Usain Bolt fair in the NFL?

Now, this isn’t the first time a world class sprinter has been the focus of football fans, but there is definitely something different in the air this time around.  I mean, when Usain Bolt takes flight, there is no question about it.  No one has a chance.  It’s a sure thing, a sure bet.  More so then Michael Phelps winning a swim meet, more so then Kobe wishing he was Michael Jordan.  Those are pretty sure things too.  The odds on him to win a race have to be something like -2/1.  That’s actually fair.  Who here saw him crush his old record in the 200M last night?  He had an elephant size lead after 125M, and it was just a laugh after that.  I was about to have a lovely dinner at a nice Japanese Restaurant in SF (Ryoko’s) when I saw the highlights on ESPN while waiting for a table.  Every person, man or woman (there were no children there) who took a glimpse at the screen and saw Bolt pretty much running against himself, just shook their heads in astonishment.  That was followed by the, “Wow, that guy is fast …” expression.  Even his name is fast.  His name alone would beat you in a 100M sprint spotting you 50M.  And I love his arrogance.  I usually hate cocky attitudes, but he’s so outwardly assure of himself that he turns every moment caught on camera as an audition for “For The Love of New York.”  He is completely feeling himself.  And he has reason to.

Now … imagine him on the football field.  Tell me this hasn’t crossed your mind.  Devin Hester is already the resident speedster in the NFL, and he brings such excitement to the game every time he touches the ball.  Even when the Bears misfired a long ball to him last season, it still made the highlight reels.  Usain Bolt would run laps around him.  He would run laps around anyone.  As if his unmatched speed wasn’t enough, he has something that most past sprinters didn’t have that would help them transition to the grid iron.  Height.  Bolt is like 6’13”.  I have no question that he would be able to adapt to the wide-out position, learn route-running, and all the fundamentals & nuances needed to be a great.  I swear this guy is the epitome of the Nike symbol.

Why hasn’t a team (NFL) openly pursued him yet?  I’m sorry, maybe I’m on the Usain Bolt bandwagon, but I’m strapped in tight, and a 10 car collision wouldn’t shoot me off this ride.  He has easily become my favorite athlete and I want to see him in a new forum, with new work clothes, preferably one that requires a gold helmet.

17 responses to “Bolt of Lightning.

  1. Although he may have the speed and the height for the NFL, the real question is weather he can sustain an NFL hit and does he have hands?

    I mean look at Darrius Heyward-Bey, or whatever that losers name is….that guy is tall and supposedly quick as well, not usain bolt quick (no one will ever be that fast), but quick nontheless, but he doesnt have hands!! People are looking down on him because that is what he lacks which i believe is a very integral part of a reciever’s repoitre (sp?). Thats why, CRAPtree is so special and was named the best reciever in this years draft. He wasnt the fastest or the tallest. he was just the guy with the best hands. for goods sake..dude routes were terrible and will definitely not translate to the NFL.

    But yeah, i think if usain cant catch..which he cant becuase i saw a special with him..trying to catch footballs…he would not translate over the to the NFL at all!!

    btw, that’s just my opinion…what what!!!

  2. True, he may not be a natural pass catcher, but he certainly can develop into a decent one with the proper guidance & training. No one can teach his kind of speed.

    Boom, what-what!

  3. That’t true, but do you know how long it will take to actually catch a damn pass from the likes of a Brett Favre or Tom Brady. I’ve played catch with the greatest Arena Football QB Aaron Garcia; NY Dragons) and man… he had a gun… it will take longer than what you would expect to see him catch one of those while running a route..

    And another thing is will he be able to take a hit?

    Oh AAANNNNDDD football isnt just about forward and backward running…. its about lateral running as well… and that is a whole different ballpark my friend…

    WHO WHO!!!

  4. Oh, and I know you struggled catching passes from the “greatest” Arena QB’s and what not, but it’s safe to say that Usain Bolt is a better athlete then you … I’m sure he’ll be fine.

  5. Actually i didnt drop any passes bro…lol..he was saying that i catch better than a lot of his recievers..lol… anyways..of course bolt is a greater athelte than me..but in relation to football agility and strength..he may be a long shot…. because you can teach certain things to people, but their ability to pick things up and actually put forth what they learned to a new environment is something on a whole different playing field.

    • Man, how did I know you’d toot your own horn even more? I know because you played 17th string running back in high school, that you believe that you’re in an upper-echelon of athletes … but the truth in the matter is, many people can be taught to do the fundamentals of football and apply them. That’s what practice is for. Let’s use you for example, when you were born, did you know how to catch a football? I’m assuming no, right? So this is something that you developed through practice and repetittion, correct? And although you are a tremendous athlete, can we assume that Usain Bolt has more athletism then you? So, if Usain Bolt were to practice his ability to catch a football, and his ability to run a clean route, can we assume he’ll be OK at it? He won’t be as good at catching football’s as you, but he’ll be OK. Fair enough? Plus, bare in mind that he will have the finest trainers on this planet. Now, Usain Bolt was born fast. Not just fast, the fastest. Of course I’m sure he’s trained to run properly, with correct technique, etc. to reach his potential, but no one taught him how to be fast. Here is my argument, that this almost super-hero speed he’s been blessed with, this once in a milennium gift he possess, gives him an unfair advantage over any other athlete or human in the world, he’s the fastest person in the history of humanity, and I believe it’s that ability that will grant him success in the NFL, in which speed does matter. I never said that he wouldn’t need development, and I never said he wasn’t the first world class sprinter brought into this discussion, hence in my first paragraph or so, “I know this isn’t the first time a world class sprinter was the focus of NFL fans, but this time it’s different … it’s special, etc. etc.) but like I said, there’s something different in the air with him. And you read the article you sent me? It seems Bolt has a taste for soccer … can we assume he’s played it recreationally? Doesn’t that require latteral movement? So he probably can move side to side a little, yeah? I mean stop me if I’m wrong here. As far as strength and being able to take a hit is concerned … I believe Randy Moss, Isaac Bruce and a few others have made a living in the NFL, avoiding hits. Bolt doesn’t have to be TO, he’s going to be a receiver, last I check, receivers don’t go head-hunting for contact. Well, minus Hines Ward. All in all, I understand your argument, and because he’s never going to play in the NFL, we’ll never know … but, in my opinion, he’s that special talent that can do it, and do it good. Now if you’re argument is that he doesn’t have football talent, well so does 99.98% of the population of this planet, but Usain Bolt has something else that not even the greatest football players have … the ability to time travel when he runs … if you have that, an OK fundamentals, I think you have a chance in the NFL. Shaq can’t shoot FT’s, he must be incapable of playing basketball at a super-star level b/c he lacks fundamentals that cannot be covered up by his obvious advantage of height and size, something that was god given. Oh, and I’m sure he was never taught how to do a drop step, or any other post move, those all came natural to him. So practice had nothing to do with his development. So if Usain Bolt practiced the fundamentals, he would not improve ever. Enough said.

  6. ok, practice…does practice really make perfect? Honestly, Do you understand how long it will take (if he is uncoordinated, even if he’s not) it would take for him to actually get fundamentals down. You gave me the argument of how i was a child and was not able to catch a ball out of the womb and what not, and i totally agree with you, but then again it took me years before i learned how to catch anything. Wouldnt you think that would go the same for him? He wouldn’t be off the bat a decent pass catcher. He would have to do it in full pads ( more weight), with a helmet (tunnel vision), and performing a route all at the same time. That is hard especially when someone whos arm like Steve Young is throwing at you. And then have to be able to dodge defenders after the catch, thats if he caught it.

    And then his speed. Yes, his speed is god given and too damn fast for anyone to ever catch of touch, but let me remind you…. the nfl is not a one man game. His ability to run can only take him so far becuse if he is able to pass one guy, there are another 10 to take him down. So only his speed can do so much for him there. And in the game of football, its about angles. Cut off angles. He can be devin hester for all that matters, but if i can make the correct angle to get to him…and time it right then i think if i can get a good hit take him down. Haven’t you seen a fat linemen chase down a db after an interception?

    As for your shaq comparison, ok…wait one damn minute. Shaq has hoop game…why didn’t you use the like of lets say..George Murasean. That guy was a joke. Where is he now? BAM!!!

  7. Touche

    These are all valid arguments my friend, but you’re missing the point. I don’t expect him to be the best with fundamentals, but I do expect him to be able to learn them, and have a grasp. You make it seem as if no one in their right mind has the ability to throw on some pads, and look a ball into their hands with a helmet on … ever. You’re argument is stating that to do those things is a gift in it’s own right, as if it’s in the same class as let’s say Bolt’s speed. I’m telling you it’s not. With the proper training, and with practice, a lot of people can develop those skills. You constantly refer to the angles, the movements and what not of the NFL, yes … I understand that, but that’s the point, Bolt can learn these things. This is something that practice gets you prepared for. Can defenders learn his speed? They would have to predict his movements, and after experience and practice, that puts Bolt in an advanteous position on the field. Imagine a corner trying to take an angle against Bolt, then he cuts another direction … good bye. Yes it took time for you to learn these fundamentals, but bare in mind (as I stated) Bolt will have the finest trainers the world can offer. And if it becomes his job to play professional football, doesn’t that mean he has to devote a little more time and effort in learning these things then a normal person? Like every day perhaps? So subsequently, doesn’t that lead to faster development? I mean … stop me if I’m wrong here.

    As far as Shaq’s concerned, I was correct in using him as an example. That type of athlete doesn’t come by every day, and Bolt, my friend is that type of athlete as well. Maybe I should use Allen Iverson as an example … he is a pure, raw athlete, and his game, his first love was football … but what does he play professionally? Or well, he’s unemployed right now, but you know what I mean … hoops. Those two sports aren’t identical, but an extremely gifted athlete can learn the fundamentals in both, and then excel due to their special advantage over other competitors. In fact, Iverson isn’t the most fundamentally sound player in the NBA is he? Yet he’s one of the greatest … hmmm … I wonder why? I rest my case.

    You took me to the wire Leets, but your mistake was back-tapping that rebound to me, instead of securing it … Robert Horry hits a three at the buzzer.

    Good night to all.

  8. Oh let me add one more thing … I’m not assuming every time Bolt touches the ball, he’s going to score a TD … that’s just stupid.

    But, he will have a big factor on the field, if he plays … even if he doesn’t touch the ball … that kind of big play threat demands attention, and that opens up the field for everyone else.

    That to me, qualifies as being successful in the NFL.

  9. No your right, his presence alone will scare off defenders becuase of his “speed” factor. All eye’s will be on him.

    But then again!!!! Jk…lol i agree with you and your last comment to this post.

    Good times BFF!

    *P.S. So success to you qualifes someone just being in the environment and not having any real productive participation in the sport? LoL Then Speedy Claxton is a success in the NBA then huh? LoL

  10. Are you saying that opposing coaches design ways to stop Speedy Claxton? You’re saying that Speedy Claxton is the focal point of the opposing team?

    So when Speedy Claxton steps into a visiting arena, everyone is like …
    “We gotta stop Speedy tonight.”

    I hope that’s not what you’re referring to … ’cause if you are … you just lost all your credibility right there.

  11. I was only referring to your comment that if someone is within the area of their respective sport then they too are considered a success…. Did you not say that?

    So Speedy Claxton just being on the court in itself is a succeess in his sport then, right?

  12. I don’t see where I eluded to that, but I can see how you would fabricate that …

  13. But, he will have a big factor on the field, if he plays … even if he doesn’t touch the ball … that kind of big play threat demands attention, and that opens up the field for everyone else.

    That to me, qualifies as being successful in the NFL.

    There, that is where I got it from….im just trying to compare what you said about Usain to another player, such as Speedy and how just in comparison his impact only on the court weather or not he touches the ball is going to be a sucessful.

  14. Ummm … yeah …

Leave a Reply

